best for small must for all
Home city guide courts in tripura

Courts in Tripura

The Tripura High Court is the High Court of the state of Tripura. The seat of the High Court is at Agartala, the capital city. Prior to the formation of the Tripura High Court, the High Court of Gauhati would function as the High Court of Tripura. The High Court of Tripura came into existence in  2013.

Formation of Tripura High Court

Tripura CourtTripura has been a state ruled by the maharajas. Earlier the king used to be the fountain-head of the justice. By time justice relating aspects started to change when in 1874 two Magisterial Courts and One Civil Court of original jurisdiction were set up at Agartala. There were also an appellate Court and a Court for Special appeals. Several courts were established in the sub-divisional level also. After the merger of Tripura with the Union of India on 15 October, 1949 Tripura (Courts) Order 1950 came into force. The Court of Judicial Commissioner, the Court of the Subordinate Judge, the Court of District Judge and the Court of the Munsiff was established in 1950. The Judicial Commissioner’s Court was the highest Court in Tripura which functioned as a High Court till January 20, 1972.

After Tripura became a full-fledged State, the High Court of Assam worked as the High Court for the state of Tripura and a bench of the High Court was established in Tripura. On 24 January, 1972 Tripura got its Bench of the common High Court and on 14 May, 1992 permanent bench. The High Court of Tripura was commenced from March 23, 2013.

Judges in Tripura High Court

Justice Deepak Gupta, Judge of the Himachal Pradesh High Court is the Chief Justice of the High Court of Tripura with effect from March 23, 2013. The other Judges, who were formally the Judges of the Gauhati High Court, became the Judges of the High Court of Tripura from March 23, 2013.

Address and Contact Number

High Court of Tripura
The Registrar General
Capital Complex, Agartala
Tripura-799 006
Fax: 0381-2410432 / 2210
Phone: 0381-2410933
e-mail : /

The Chief Justice,
Hon’ble Mr. Justice Deepak Gupta,
High Court of Tripura, Agartala
Phone: 208 241-3514

Consumer Court, Agartala

State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (State Commission)
Address: Ramnagar Road No 1, Agartala.
Phone: 0381-222-5975

District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum (District Forum)
West Tripura District Forum
Address: District Judge Court Complex, Agartala, West Tripura
Phone: 0381-222-5334

Explore more about Administration of Agartala

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries